I'll make this one short and uncharacteristically English 😉

I got myself the Asus UX305FA a few weeks ago, nuked Windows away and slapped on Linux Mint 17.3 Xfce edition.

I couldn't find information about running Mint on this machine (I only found some references to the fact that people couldn't boot mint on the machine, a thing I was skeptical about, seeing that people seemed to be saying that it could run Ubuntu without a problem).

To cut a long story short, Installing Mint Xfce was embarrassingly simple. I was prepared for some time fiddling with the BIOS/UEFI to enable legacy mode or at least disable Secure Boot, but I didn't need to do any of that, and I installed Mint Xfce on the machine with UEFI and Secure Boot enabled, and It didn't seem to have any problem with that.

The only strange thing in the installation was that when I popped in the Live USB I didn't get the usual Mint menu, but instead got a grub menu from which I started the live session of Mint and installed it normally without any problem.

After a few weeks, everything works fine, and with the use of TLP I can get very good battery life if I stick to word processing and web browsing (7-9 hours).

This laptop rocks.

